Asian Chicken Wings

asianchickenwings_done

I signed up to make chicken wings for my office Superbowl potluck.  I have never made them before.  The night before I am thinking, what did I get myself into?!  I scouted pinterest and google, looking for recipes that would be travel and sit-a-bit friendly.  I found lots of set it and forget it crockpot recipes, but to get that thin delicious skin you need to broil them before serving.  Our break room has a teeny tiny toaster oven but I am not about to step away from my desk as long as it takes to broil wings for 35 people six at a time!  I combined tips and flavor profiles from multiple sources and came up with the simple, low maintenance recipe below that garnered rave reviews from my coworkers.  I was able to save two for my honey and eat one myself before the whole batch was gone.  I recommend you set aside a few for yourself as well, these will go quick!  What’s your favorite work potluck or superbowl grub?

Asian Chicken Wings

  • 5-6 pounds chicken wings
  • 2.5 cups low sodium soy sauce
  • 1.5 cups coconut sugar*
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon minced ginger
  1. Trim tips from your whole wings and separate at the joints.  This gave me about 46 pieces.
  2. Combine soy sauce, sugar, garlic and ginger in a large mixing bowl, whisking until sugar begins to dissolve some.
  3. Add wings to the marinade.  Cover with plastic wrap.  Place in the fridge overnight.AsianChickenWings_marinade.jpg
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  5. Remove from fridge and using tongs place wings on baking trays, skin side up, in a single layer.  Pour some of the remaining marinade on top.AsianChickenWings_baking.jpg
  6. Bake for 60 minutes.  Transfer to serving dish and dig in.  If you are taking it to the office, cover with aluminum foil, they are still delicious at room temperature.

AsianChickenWings_done.jpg* You could substitute brown sugar for the coconut sugar.  I prefer coconut sugar because it has a lower glycemic index.

 

Leave a Reply

