Snowflake Truffles

20170311_205620
My office is holding a holiday bake off and I am determined to enter.  Winners are announced each day and Friday will be a bake off of all daily winners.  I talked myself out of it Sunday evening.  Too tired, too late, blah blah blah.  Did I mention I am not a baker?  Monday’s winner made a Sopapilla Cheesecake and the runner up was a perfectly lovely fudge.  Tuesday will be mine with these Snowflake Truffles I found on Pinterest.
I selected this recipe based on its approachability from a staggering amount of options if you search Christmas desserts in pinterest.  I had most of the ingredients, it doesn’t actually require my oven be used, and spends most of the prep time in the fridge.  I doubled the recipe and substituted lemon extract and a vanilla bean in place of the almond extract.  All I needed to purchase was heavy cream, white chocolate, and unsalted butter.  There is a food network video I used as a guide.  I made a quick stop at the store on the way home from work and started in it to win it.
SNOWFLAKE TRUFFLES
  • 2/3 cup + 2 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp lemon extract
  • 1 vanilla bean, scrapped of seeds *save the leftover pod for this
  • 24 oz white chocolate chips, divided
  • 1 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded coconut flakes
  1. In a bowl, add cream, butter, extract, vanilla, and 16 oz of the white chocolate.  Heat in the microwave in 30 second intervals, stirring in between each interval to avoid scorching.  Continue heating and stirring until mixture is smooth and melted.  Fold in powdered sugar and 1/2 coconut flakes.  Cover bowl with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for at least 90 minutes to set.
  2. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper.  I used two pie plates to fit in my fridge with greater ease.  Melt the remaining chocolate in the microwave.  Take out the cooled and semi-hardened truffle mixture.  I left mine in overnight.  If left in the fridge that long, let it sit at room temperature for 20 minutes to soften slightly.  The mixture should be soft enough to shape in to balls and firm enough to hold it’s shape.
  3. Using a 1 tbsp cookie scoop, start forming your snowballs, this should make about 30 truffles.  Using a pastry brush, “paint” on the melted chocolate and place on the parchment paper.  Not being a baker, I do not own a pastry brush.  I used the back of a spoon and smeared.  I think it worked just fine.  Sprinkle with coconut.  Continue smearing and sprinkling until each truffle is coated.  Refrigerate for one hour.

 

20161213_045026.jpg
SMEAR AND SPRINKLE. REPEAT.

 

20161213_075523
LET THE VOTING BEGIN.

 

 

Find the original recipe and video here.

UPDATE:   I did not win the Tuesday competition.  I did come in second.  Turns out more folks than just my mother aren’t that crazy about coconut and everyone loves a snickerdoodle, even if the coworkers wife made it for him.

UPDATE TO THE UPDATE:  Intense ice storms nearly shut the office down for two days.  I did not make a second play for the championship.  Had weather not interceded, my back up recipes under consideration were:

Lump of Coal Rice Krispie Treats

“3 Sizes Too Small” Grinch Cookies

And for the grand finale bakeoff:

Hot Chocolate Cookie Cups

Maybe next year…

 

 

Leave a Reply

